Press Release: ‘The NEXT on Wax’ ADP Compilation Album



The evening will mark the official release of AMF’s inaugural ‘The NEXT On Wax’ Compilation Album on limited-run vinyl; recorded with GRAMMY-nominated producer, Chris “Frenchie” Smith, at The Bubble Recording Studio, the project features new and original music by the graduates of the 2019 Artist Development Program.


AUSTIN, TX – The Austin Music Foundation will kick off 2020 with the return of its marquee annual event, ‘AMF Presents: The NEXT’, on Friday, January 24 at Antone’s Nightclub (305 E 5th Street, Austin, TX 78701). ‘The NEXT’ is a live music showcase and fundraiser commemorating the conclusion of AMF’s Artist Development Program (ADP). Building on the success of the program, this year’s event will also introduce ‘The NEXT On Wax’, a compilation album pressed on limited-run 12” vinyl, which offers the ADP artists a tangible piece of their work completed during the program and sole ownership of the singles masters. The album features new and original music by each artist, all recorded, mixed and mastered at The Bubble Recording Studio in Austin, TX and will be available for purchase for the first time on the evening of the event where each artist will also perform. The seven graduates of the 2019 class include Calliope Musicals, Kydd Jones, William Harries Graham, DAYEATER, Jai Malano, Sydney Wright and Ray Prim. Doors for the event are at 7 p.m. and the showcase will begin at 8 p.m

GA and VIP tickets to ‘The NEXT’ are available now ($25-$100). VIP packages include two tickets to the show and afterparty, plus one copy of the limited-run ‘The NEXT On Wax’ compilation album on 12” vinyl. The afterparty, featuring DJ Mel, will take place immediately following the show in the upstairs bar at Antone’s, with complimentary drinks provided by Tito’s Vodka, Black Feather Whiskey and Dulce Vida Tequila. Guests will also enjoy a silent auction with packages from YETI, Capital Cruises, Alamo Drafthouse, Zipline Adventures, and more.

“‘The NEXT’ is our way of recognizing hard work and showcasing art in its best form,” said Jennifer Dugas, Executive Director of the Austin Music Foundation. “And the ADP is AMF’s investment in the growth, long-term sustainability and future of Austin’s most promising artists. When the program ends, the partnership and support continues, because we have a vested interest in helping each of these individuals move forward. And we love that the Austin music community shares in this effort.” 



Austin Music Foundation has come together with The Bubble Recording Studio and Gold Rush Vinyl to create a truly unique experience for its third-year Artist Development Program artists. ‘The NEXT On Wax’ is a first-of-its-kind compilation album featuring new and original music by the 2019 graduates of the Artist Development Program. The project was recorded, mixed and mastered during the program, and pressed on limited-run 12” vinyl. The album will be available for first-time purchase at the showcase on January 24, 2020. Proceeds from the ‘The NEXT On Wax’ compilation album sales directly benefit the 2019 ADP graduates and AMF. 

Art by Brad Bond

At the helm of the project is AMF Artist Consultant Einar Pedersen and GRAMMY-nominated producer Chris “Frenchie” Smith, who co-produced the record together.

“The ‘Next On Wax’ endeavor allows our educational components to shift from conceptualization to implementation on many levels by providing our artists with a tangible product to attach the program concepts and principles to over the course of the ADP and beyond,” said Pedersen.

“I am grateful for AMF and all of the artists to give me the opportunity to produce an album that feels and sounds like the best radio station in the world, authenticity at it’s finest,” said Smith.



The Artist Development Program (ADP) was designed by the Austin Music Foundation and launched in 2017 to provide high-level, focused music business training, professional development, mentoring, and unique revenue-earning and promotional opportunities to a select group of independent Austin artists. The seven artists selected for the ADP each year must demonstrate commitment to their craft, artistic excellence, strong business acumen, drive and talent. 

Through the ADP, participants receive hands-on, individualized guidance and tailored resources to help them advance their music careers. The ADP also serves as a bridge to the local and greater music industry, by cultivating peer-to-peer collaboration and facilitating meaningful relationships within and outside of the AMF network. 

2018 ADP Graduates: Western Youth, Superfonicos, Shy Beast, Alesia Lani, Taylor Wilkins of Otis the Destroyer and Otis Wilkins, Kalu James, Aaron Stephens

2017 ADP Graduates: Jackie Venson, Gina Chavez, Migrant Kids, Magna Carda, Jane Ellen Bryant, James Junius, Charlie Faye & the Fayettes 



Founded in 2002, the Austin Music Foundation is a 501(c)3 nonprofit arts organization whose core mission is to strengthen, connect, and advance the local music industry and community through educational programming, professional development, and focused mentoring. 

AMF is highly engaged in developing initiatives that facilitate the growth and sustainability of Austin’s creative class and remains one of the city’s only service organizations dedicated to delivering year-round music business training, at no cost to the local music community.  



The Bubble is a world-class music production and mastering studio located in the heart of Austin, TX. Co-owned by Alex Lyon and Chris “Frenchie” Smith, and designed by the late architectural master, Mark Genfan, the recording studio is built to capture every note in perfect balance for all stages of high-end analog and digital audio production. Smith has made an international name for himself with the audio and aesthetic quality of his product. From a studio perspective, The Bubble is an experience worth its weight in gold, and all of this under the Grammy-nominated ear of Smith (Meat Puppets, Slayer, The Toadies, Jet, and more). 


Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *